ProForm Treadmill Review

Last Updated - November 14, 2019
Brand Rating: 9.0/10
ProForm Treadmill
0 4.5 5
ProForm treadmills are produced by the world-leading, Utah-based gym equipment manufacturer ICON Health and Fitness. When comparing ProForm treadmills

ProForm treadmills are produced by the world-leading, Utah-based gym equipment manufacturer ICON Health and Fitness. When comparing ProForm treadmills it’s impossible to ignore the huge differences in price, performance, and durability. So what do they all have in common? Features. All ProForm treadmills are feature-rich compared to most alternatives in their class. The biggest competition comes from NordicTrack, which is also owned by ICON and uses many of the same treadmill components. ProForm treadmills for 2019 have a range of different features, from HD touch screens to Bluetooth speakers, as well as iFit Coach readiness and other amenities to help keep you motivated.

Below are overviews of the main ProForm treadmill series currently on the market. Retail prices range from $999 to $2,999, but you can often find the models online with up to 50% off.

First up is the Pro Series, which ProForm describes as their ‘industry-leading interactive fitness’ models. In the middle ground we have the Power Series, priced and equipped to meet the typical fitness shopper’s needs. Finally there is the Performance Series which offers the cheapest treadmills in ProForm’s roster. 

Looking for a desk treadmill? ProForm currently offers the Thinline and Thinline Pro models. Unlike the average desk treadmill, these models can support intense exercise when work time is through, with their spacious tracks, automated incline/decline, many workout apps, and iFit readiness.

Check out our ProForm Comparison Chart:
Proform Treadmill Comparison

Pro Series

The ProForm Pro Series features the brand’s top treadmill tech. The three treadmills in this lineup for 2019 are suitable for runners as well as walkers. Motor capacity ranges from 3.5 CHP on the SMART Pro 2000 to 4.0 CHP on the 9000 model. Each Pro Series unit has a 60″ x 22″ track, which is especially spacious, and a power incline/decline from -3 to 15%.

All models have a smart HD touch screen which ranges in size across the series: 7” for the SMART Pro 2000 and 10″ for both the SMART Pro 5000 and SMART Pro 9000.

Power Series

Although the ProForm Power Series is technically a step down from the Pro Series, we’re still big fans of the treadmills’ price–performance ratio. Both Power Series machines have 20″ x 60″ tracks and 0–12% automated inclines. The 995i model has a 3.0 CHP motor which is ideal for walking and light jogging, and the 1295i model offers a slightly higher powered 3.5 CHP motor.

Besides the extra horsepower, users of the 1295i also benefit from a 7” high-contrast display (compared to the 995i’s 6” display) and 4 additional on-board workouts. The 1295i can also accommodate 50 lb. more in weight than the 995i (350 lb. as opposed to 300 lb.).

Performance Series

ProForm’s cheapest treadmills are found in their Performance Series. Three Performance models are currently available: the 400i, 600i and 800i. All models have built-in smart HD touch screens which vary in size via the model, starting at 7” for the 400i, increasing to 10” for the 600i, and 14” for the 800i.

Each model in the ProForm Performance Series has a different horsepower and belt length, which are two features of a treadmill that can alter its purpose significantly. With an 18” x 50” tread belt and CHP of 2.0, the SMART Performance 400i is an affordable option designed for walking. The 600i has a longer belt (18” x 55”) as well as a bit more power with 2.5 CHP, so it’s a little bit better suited to jogging than the 400i. Both models have high speeds of 0–10 mph, although the belts will both wear out rather quickly if you often train intensely. To boost calorie burn, these trainers have maximum 10% inclines respectively.

The 800i benefits from a 2.75 CHP and an even longer 18” x 60” belt, making it the most suitable model for jogging across the Performance Series. That said, as with the 400i and 600i models the belt is not ideal for the more serious runner who plans to train more intensely. The 800i builds on the other models’ incline feature by also offering a -2 powered decline on top of the 10% incline.

Regarding the warranties, all models are on par, offering 10 years on the frame, 2 years on the parts, and 1 year on labor.

What We Like:

  • Reasonable Price Range: Every customer has a different price point, so it’s important to have machines for every budget. ProForm doesn’t disappoint in this regard. Their factory-direct sale price for treadmills ranges from $999 to $2,999.
  • Programming Options: There’s a range of built-in workout programs in all these ProForm treadmills, making it easy to mix up your workout routine and stay motivated to keep exercising. This is great news for both new exercisers who don’t know where to start, and for seasoned walkers or joggers looking to recharge their fitness routine. Each treadmill is also compatible with iFit Coach, a subscription service that syncs your machine with virtual outdoor training via Google Maps and HD workouts hosted by celebrity personal trainers in fitness studios around the world.
  • Motors: The motor can make or break a treadmill as it dictates how smoothly it’ll run. The good news? ProForm provides great motors throughout its catalog at every price point. The Performance Series motors are at the lower end of the spectrum, but from there you can go all the way up to a 4.0 CHP drive with the Pro 9000. 
  • Incline Features: All ProForm treadmills can automatically incline or decline, giving you plenty of workout programming options.
  • Cushioning: Your joints will appreciate ProForm’s top-of-the-line cushioning system. With up to 28% less impact on the lower body, you’ll be able to train pain-free for the foreseeable future.
  • Compact Design: Most of ProForm’s treadmills are foldable and can be easily tucked away when not in use.
  • Audio: All the treadmills in the Performance Series have an audio auxiliary port with dual 2” speakers. This is upgraded in the Power Series as the speakers are also Bluetooth enabled. The size is bumped up to 3” in the Pro Series which provides better sound quality and volume (minus the 9000 model which just features an AUX).
  • Warranties: This brand’s treadmill warranty includes up to 10 years of coverage on the frame, 2 years on parts and 1 year on labor depending on the machine.

What We Don’t Like:

  • Customer Service: From reading a number of reviews online, customer service appears to be a major weak point with this company. This is definitely something to keep in mind if you’re a first-time owner who will need help maintaining your machine or have a lot of questions you want to ask before and after your purchase.

Our Verdict:

ProForm has an inclusive range of treadmills on its roster to suit every budget and type of exerciser. Their wide variety of prices make them affordable for just about everyone and there is a sharp increase in quality as the prices increase. This is evidence of a brand that understands its different users’ needs and tailors its products to these accordingly. At all the different price points, you can count on ProForm to deliver top-notch quality and a smooth ride. Many people have already experienced excellent fitness results using ProForm treadmills. Overall, they are certainly worth the investment. It’s worth noting that ProForm and NordicTrack treadmills are quite similar, so consider comparing machines from both brands to see which one best suits your personal needs before diving into a purchase.


31 Comments

  • Katie March 12, 2019 at 11:18 am from IL
    Can you tell me what error code 8 is?
    • Amanda B. March 14, 2019 at 10:56 am
      Hi Katie. https://support.proform.com/parts-manuals/ this link will allow you to type in your machine and serial number to pull up the manual that should include error codes. In the event this does not answer your question, this number 1-888-533-1333 will allow you to speak to a representative directly.
  • Larry March 23, 2019 at 3:55 pm
    Looking for help on my proform j8 treadmill. Replaced both boards and belt however treadmill shuts off while running usually .5 to. 3/4 mile. Into run.only thing left is motor. Any way to check motor for short?
    • Amanda B. March 25, 2019 at 3:29 pm
      Hi Larry. That is definitely odd that it is shutting off. Have you tried resetting the machine? If you are still experiencing issues we recommend calling 1-888-742-0128 to speak to a Proform representative directly.
  • John vullo March 28, 2019 at 11:23 am from New York
    15 years ago I purchased my first 400 at Sears. Well made. Used each day moderately. Little use of presets and incline. Good product. Broke down, Too much to repair. purchased second 400 8 months ago. Cheaper made. Assembled without issue. Same usage. After 3 month warranty expired , intermittent shutdowns, and when checking incline use tread slipped. Since when does a warranty need to be used after 3 months. This is a cheaper made second generation product. Contacted Proform, about problem. Reply was It is Sears problem , call them. Apparently where you buy can have consequences. In essence Proform will build an inferior product for some stores , then deny responsibility for failures.
    • Amanda B. March 29, 2019 at 2:06 pm
      Hi John. We are so sorry to hear about your disappointments with your purchases. Have you been able to contact the management of the fitness equipment department at the Sears where you purchased it? Considering the amount of time you had the machine, Sears should be able to offer a solution for you or perhaps a replacement. We hope we can help you resolve these issues.
  • Debby April 4, 2019 at 4:24 pm
    I have a Pro-Form XP580 treadmill that I’m trying to sell. How much does it weigh...I’ve looked everywhere for the information!!
    • Amanda B. April 5, 2019 at 8:10 am
      Hi Debby, typically these treadmills weigh between 350-450lbs. The belt itself on this machine is 45lbs so I would list it around 400lbs in weight to be safe.
  • ragda April 7, 2019 at 2:36 pm from saudi arabia
    hello there... i have bought a pro form xp 5800 recently and it works fine with my husband..but when i try it stops suddenly. why is that is it the weight or something else my husbands weight is 82 kg and mine is 90 kg ?
    • Amanda B. April 8, 2019 at 4:21 pm
      Hi Ragda, we are sorry to hear that your machine has been stopping--it certainly should not be. Have you tried troubleshooting the machine? Have you been able to contact a representative from ProForm??
      • ragda April 17, 2019 at 3:49 pm from saudi arabia
        hello there..thank you for your quick reply no i havent since i couldnt find who is your agent here in saudi would you help at least give me the name and i will find it thank you
        • Amanda B. April 18, 2019 at 10:16 am
          Hi Ragda, here is the number to contact Proform directly who can better assist you in finding the right representative 1-888-742-0128
      • ragda April 28, 2019 at 8:07 am from saudi arabia
        hello there..thank you for your quick reply no i havent since i couldnt find who is your agent here in saudi would you help at least give me the name and i will find it thank you
        • Amanda B. April 30, 2019 at 3:41 pm
          Hi Ragda, this is the line for service for Proform directly. If you contact this number a representative should be able to advise you: 1-888-533-1333.
  • Regina Ann Scott April 10, 2019 at 1:57 am from California
    I was excited to purchase this treadmill. It had everything I needed. After having a health scare, this machine was going to be the equipment to rehab and build my strength. Well, this has proven to be a nightmare. The machine had broken parts, the quality is very poor and the customer service is useless and very non-responsive. This is a brand new machine and I have only been able to use it for a week. First, the "Easy Lift" part was defective. It took some time and I finally received a replacement part. Second, the frame appears to be bent or misaligned because when you lift it rubs against the top support handles causing scrapes and scratches. Third, during the second week of having the machine, the console failed to respond. No console!!! No treadmill!! I tried to reset it as indicated in the manual. It did not reset my treadmill. I contacted customer service all I have received is an auto-respond email. I should not have this much problem with a new treadmill. I also purchased the additional warranty. I am hoping eventually the problems will be resolved in the upcoming months. However, it will be months before I will be able to use my BRAND NEW treadmill. Proform should be ashamed in the way they treat people who purchase a treadmill from their website. I would not recommend proform or this machine to anyone. It is poorly made, poor quality and even worst customer service. Buy another brand. Stay away from Proform. They might finally fix the problem but you will be without your new purchase for months. I still can not use my machine going on for six weeks. I wish someone would have written this comment and warned me. Worst experience ever. Buy at your own risk.
    • Amanda B. April 10, 2019 at 8:12 am
      Hi Regina, we are so sorry to hear that you had these issues with your treadmill. We hope that you can get another treadmill in a timely manner. We certainly hope you are able to get the experience you wanted when purchasing a treadmill. We will definitely make note of your concerns and contact the manufacturer.
    • Vanessa October 17, 2019 at 2:20 pm from Westlake village
      Thank you for taking the time to express your issues which helps consumers such as myself. I am in the market to shop for a treadmill, so your detailed experience is helpful. I will pass on buying proform as I need something that will last and if not it does not, then a live person who is actually is helpful!
  • headaches and causes April 20, 2019 at 1:51 am
    I'm honored to get a call from my friend when he uncovered the important ideas shared on the site. Reading through your blog post is a real brilliant experience. Many thanks for taking into account readers just like me, and I would like for you the best of achievements like a professional in this field.
    • Amanda B. April 24, 2019 at 9:12 am
      Thank you!
  • yossi zilberman April 23, 2019 at 3:39 pm from Israel
    I have a pro-form 390P I want to know the belt size can you help me I am measuring now when it is mounted 129cm from side to side
    • Amanda B. April 24, 2019 at 8:11 am
      Hi Yossi, the treadmill belt is 45 cm x 127 cm for a model similar to yours so your measurements are correct!
  • Demetrio Montoya May 26, 2019 at 4:31 pm from CA
    I'm trying to find out how much my treadmill is worth because I'm thinking of selling it (hardly used) for an elliptical bike. I've searched both the Sears and ProForm830QT websites to no avail, can't find anything regarding the resale price. I don't want to gauge anyone, just want a fair resale price to someone looking for a treadmill at a decent price. Can you help me out with this problem ???
  • Hana June 11, 2019 at 1:14 pm
    Hello ,I am interested to buy ifit program since I had a proform treadmill but how should I granteed that it will work with my fitness issues
    • Amanda B June 18, 2019 at 10:52 am
      Hi Hana, the iFit Coach uses data about your sleep patterns, diet, and exercise to make fitness suggestions tailored to your needs. You can learn more about iFit with our guide: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/ifit/
  • Talia June 22, 2019 at 10:45 pm
    My proform 545S that I've had since 2005 is no longer working. I loved this treadmill and felt it was worth it for all the years and miles I walked on it. I would like to purchase a new proform. What newer model proforms are comparable to the 545S as far as durability, price, features? I can't remember what I paid for the 545s. I only need it for walking as I don't run. I need the size to be about the same, with incline features. I am not looking for a cheap treadmill that is going to shake rattle, roll and be noisy. I want the quality I got with the 545S. The Most important feature for me is cushioning for my joints! I weigh 165, 5'4" and can't walk on the pavement because of joint problems. I have been looking online, but getting confused and seeing many mixed reviews. I need to get back on the treadmill after not being on it for several months!!!
    • Amanda B July 10, 2019 at 11:29 am
      Hi Talia, the ProForm 505CST would be a comparable inexpensive option for you! The treadmill is a great entry level option for walking or light running. Here's our full review https://www.treadmillreviews.net/proform-505-cst/
  • Arti July 18, 2019 at 5:05 pm
    Hi. My treadmill just stopped working this morning. It powers on but belt not moving after choosing your speed
    • Amanda B August 1, 2019 at 12:02 pm
      Hi Arti, sorry to hear that your treadmill belt is stuck. Have you tried contacting ProForm? You can access their support page here: https://myfitnesshelp.com/s/?language=en_US
  • Constantine Mulligan July 27, 2019 at 5:53 pm from Illinois
    Customer service and warranties are not good from Icon/ProForm. While running on my ProForm 5000 the running deck cracked. I can obviously tell, because when I stand on it, the middle of the deck sags, and cracks more. I called customer service, explained that I had purchased the warranty, and was told that I had to provide photographic proof before a technician would come out. I'm a very handy guy, and capable of taking this thing apart (which is a major pain), but doing all this work to prove I'm not a liar, and to get the company to honor the warranty they sold me, is not reasonable, and frankly insulting. I'm still hoping to get it fixed, but I won't buy another proform. Peloton, here I come!
    • Amanda B August 1, 2019 at 4:28 pm
      Hi Constantine, we are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your ProForm. Hopefully it does get fixed. In the meantime, if you're looking to read more about the Peloton treadmill, you can check out our review here: https://www.treadmillreviews.net/peloton-tread/
  • terry fleming September 2, 2019 at 9:54 am from TN
    My pro-form 4.0 treadmills preset does not work

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.